The Art of Lon Parker – Anthem

I had some very influential teachers in Junior/Senior High. One was an English teacher in Junior High, Mr. Bogner. Besides being a fun and engaging instructor he introduced me to writers I probably would not have come across at so young an age, I was in grade 7 or 8 I think. One was Kafka. From a suggested reading book list he identified The Metamorphosis, although he cautioned it may not be for everyone. I took that as a dare and met the monstrous vermin Gregor Samsa. Another writer was Ayn Rand and specifically her novelette Anthem. To this day, although I do not own a copy and have never read it since, I kept with me the determination of Street Sweeper Equality 7-2521 to find his individuality. As best I can anyway.

This work was originally started sometime back in the early 1980’s, with a small bit of influence from a poster of Picasso`s Old Guitarist.

IMG_0155

The Art of Lon Parker is a solo gallery art exhibition and sale.

Following on the success of my Galerie Graf:DADA gallery show and performance in 2016, the lower level gallery at cSPACE Kind Edward will feature 15 recently completed paintings. The show will run Oct. 01-31 with the opening reception on Saturday, Oct 5 5-9 PM.

Although the works have been recently completed, many of them can trace their heritage back over 20 years, evolving through many iterations and colors and storylines.

Please follow the atwarwithart blog for regular updates on the show and features on the individual pieces.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment